FIBA Africa Basketball League: Hoopers, Civil Defenders know foes today

Updates on happenings

Nigeria and FIBA Africa Zone Three flagbearers, Royal Hoopers and Defenders Basketball Club will know their fate today when the draw for to FIBA Africa Basketball League (FIBA ABL) takes place today in Abidjan at 6pm.

Fourteen other clubs from across Africa, who earned their spots to the final round of the inaugural FIBA ABL through regional qualifiers, will join the Nigerian teams for the draws. Rwandan side REG got a wild card to complete the 2019 FIBA ABL 16-team lineup.

The FIBA ABL replaces former FIBA Africa Champions Cup (ACC), and it brings a number of innovations. Unlike the one-week long ACC, the new competition will run over for an extended period of time, and it aims at attracting local fans to the game of basketball.

The First Round of the competition will take place from February 8 to March 10 across different African cities.

The 16 teams for the Round of 16 will be divided into four groups of four each, and the competition would be played in a round-robin format with each team taking on its three opponent respectively.

According to FIBA Africa, Group A games would be played from February 8-10, Group B matches will hold from February 15-17, Group C games hold March 1-3, while Group D games would be played from March 8-10.

The clubs that finish in the top two teams from each group advance to the Elite eight, where clubs will be divided into four groups of teams teams each.

The Elite eight will mark the start of the knock-out stage, and it will run from March 22 to April 14. At this stage of the competition teams will play home-and-away games.

The four winners from Elite 8 will advance to the Final four to be played from May 3-5.

All the teams that have qualified are AS Sale (Morocco), ES Rades (Tunisia), JS Kairouan (Tunisia), Rivers Hoopers (Nigeria), Civil Defenders (Nigeria), Elan Sportif (Benin), SLAC (Guinea), ASB Mazembe (DR Congo), BC Terreur (DR Congo), Al Ahly (Egypt), Smouha (Egypt), Primeiro De Agosto (Angola), Petro de Luanda (Angola), Ferroviario da Beira (Mozambique), Rwanda Energy Group (Rwanda) and COSPN (Madagascar).

Original Article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here